Category: Regionals

TISCA Waterpolo West Region Championships

LASA Earns First Title, Round Rock Threepeats

LASA, which has qualified for State Championships two of the last three years, ascended to the top of the West Region on Saturday. The boys defeated Anderson in the title match, 13-5, for their first ever championship. Round Rock and Waco Midway will each head to their seventh consecutive state championships. The Dragons beat  Midway 9-7 to earn third place in the regional tournament.

2019 West Region Champions – Round Rock HS Girls

The Round Rock girls defeated local rivals Cedar Ridge 13-5 in Saturday’s title match to win their fifth regional championship in six years. LASA and Anderson extended their day by taking the third place match to overtime, but the Jaguars ended on top 6-4.

All eight teams head to the TISCA Water Polo State Championships beginning on May 3 at the Texas Swim Center in Austin. Their opening round matches will be against East Region teams in 2019.

TISCA West Region Varsity Boys Championship

  1. LASA
  2. Anderson
  3. Round Rock
  4. Waco Midway

TISCA West Region Varsity Girls Championship

  1. Round Rock
  2. Cedar Ridge
  3. LASA
  4. Anderson

TISCA WEST All Region Teams

Varsity Boys
1stJackHansenRound Rock12
1stMarkGibelWaco Midway12
2ndColbySullivanCedar Park11
2ndJTSwordWaco Midway11
2ndMichaelDolanRound Rock12
2ndWalkerStewartCedar Ridge11
HMSpencerCampbellRound Rock11
HMTobyCollishawCedar Ridge10
HMCooperGilkeyCedar Park11
Co-Coach of the YearQuinn CurlAnderson
Co-Coach of the YearSean MurrayLASA
Varsity Girls
MVPMakaylaKeatingCedar Ridge9
1stCallieScottRound Rock11
1stDelaneyScottRound Rock11
2ndChloeFinchCedar Ridge11
2ndTressaLangenohlCedar Ridge10
2ndLucyParatoreRound Rock12
HMTrinityWolfRound Rock10
HMAnaLecompteCedar Ridge12
HMCateLayneRound Rock10
Coach of the YearMark StohrerCedar Ridge

Anderson Regains Title, Round Rock Repeats

Three years after its first title the Anderson boys water polo team earned its second on Saturday upending defending champions Waco Midway 8-6 for the TISCA West Region Varsity Championship. The fourth-seeded Trojans advanced to the finals with a 12-2 victory over newcomers Cedar Park. Round Rock defeated the Timberwolves 7-2 to capture third place.

Anderson HS, 2018 Boys Varsity Champs

The Round Rock girls completed their season undefeated in the West Region with a 10-6 victory over Cedar Ridge in Saturday’s title match. The Dragons have now won four out of the last five regional championships. Anderson took the third spot after defeating Westwood. All four teams head to the TISCA Water Polo State Championships in the same positions they did one year ago. That tournament begins on May 4 at the Texas Swim Center in Austin.

TISCA West Region Varsity Boys Championship

  1. Anderson
  2. Waco Midway
  3. Round Rock
  4. Cedar Park

TISCA West Region Varsity Girls Championship

  1. Round Rock
  2. Cedar Ridge
  3. Anderson
  4. Westwood

TISCA WEST All Region Teams

Varsity Boys
MVPRiley BoydAnderson11
1stEthan AlfordMidway12
1stBennet BuchananAnderson10
1stReed DadyAnderson12
1stAdam GallardoRound Rock12
1stJack HansenRound Rock11
1stChris KazanasMidway12
2ndJohn de los TrinosBSB10
2ndAlex MancevskiLBJ12
2ndJuan MejiaPSJA Southwest12
2ndJeremiah PenaBSB9
2ndBrady SullivanCedar Park12
2ndColby SullivanCedar Park10
2ndMing ZhaoLBJ12
HMJoseph VelasquezPSJA Southwest12
HMCameron KeatingCedar Ridge12
HMWalker StewartCedar Ridge10
Coach of the Year:Quinn CurlAnderson HS
Varsity Girls
MVPKendall KatusakRound Rock12
1stCassandra KeatingCedar Ridge12
1stTressa LangenohlCedar Ridge9
1stKate PerryAnderson10
1stCallie ScottRound Rock10
1stDelaney ScottRound Rock10
1stEmmy WagnerAnderson11
2ndShannon BerryWestwood12
2ndSophia De LeonLBJ10
2ndLucy MoranWestwood11
2ndJadie PetersenMidway11
2ndAshlyn SeifertMcNeil12
2ndCora TienLBJ11
2ndEmily VelaMidway12
HMMadison CateMcNeil9
HMLynnzie HalgoodBSB11
HMSarah RuizBSB10
Coach of the Year:James SmithRound Rock HS
Consolidated Boys
MVPGabe RossBoerne Red10
1stCaeden ColgroveAustin ISD12
1stCooper GadersonAustin ISD10
1stJustin MedinaBoerne Red9
1stEvan SayerTXLA12
1stKade TaylorBoerne Red9
1stMichael WallaceTXLA12
2ndJoshua CalderonBoerne White9
2ndCarlo CarranzaPSJA ISD10
2ndBrendan CornellBoerne White10
2ndJose GomezPSJA ISD12
2ndJared ParksLeander ISD11
2ndRiley WilkensonLeander ISD12
Coach of the Year:Matt RossBoerne Red
Consolidated Girls
MVPChloe FinchCedar Ridge JV10
1stSophia De LeonTXLA10
1stKennedy DulinCedar Ridge JV9
1stHayley HuthBoerne10
1stCorine KaderliTXLA11
1stTahlia MudzimuremaBoerne11
1stAbby PeardonCedar Ridge JV10
2ndMarty ButlerLeander ISD12
2ndCarina CamposPSJA ISD9
2ndAshley PoulsonLeander ISD11
2ndJulia WorleyPSJA ISD12
Coach of the Year:Mark StohrerCedar Ridge HS

Cedar Park Stunner; Cedar Ridge JV and Boerne Take Consolidated Titles

Day two of the West Region Championships ended with a stunner. Eighth-seeded Cedar Park defeated top ranked LBJ 8-6 in their first round varsity boys matchup. With the upset the Timberwolves have earned their first trip to the state championship tournament beginning on May 4. They will face the winner of Saturday morning’s Anderson, BSB matchup in the regional semifinals.

In the consolidated finals Cedar Ridge JV captured their first girls title with a win over TXLA. Boerne Red competed their championship run with a convincing win over first-year program, Austin ISD in the boys consolidated championship.

Varsity champions will be crowned at the end of Saturday.

Consolidated Boys Championships

  1. Boerne Red
  2. Austin ISD
  3. TXLA

Consolidated Girls Championships

  1. Cedar Ridge JV
  2. TXLA
  3. Boerne

Day One of Regional Championships Complete

The first of three days of championship water polo competition is complete in Round Rock. The higher seeds advanced after Thursday night’s games with the Cedar Park varsity boys winning a play in game to advance. The Westwood and Cedar Ridge girls posted wins in their openers to earn spots in the West Region semi-finals.

The schedule and results for the entire weekend of competition are live. The Friday agenda is full of consolidated action with champions slated to be crowned beginning at 5:30 PM.